This Holidays we are spending with my mother in law and we decided it would be about her. No fancy dinners and no big parties. Just us celebrating family. It’s five in the afternoon and soon will be Christmas eve. This uneventful holiday gives a lot of space for the mind to wonder. There are two old men playing sax and Clarinet in the corner just below my apartment. The street is really empty and they are playing for us and for the very few fast paced people running to get things ready for the eve. They are playing “I’m in heaven” now. I can’t help but remember when Christmas was huge. When i was young and it represented a big family meeting with many gifts, toys and food. That was pure joy. Now i realize that Christmas only exists when grandparents are alive. After that, families usually get apart. Inheritance issues, all sort of rivalries and lack of union is what i see around this Holiday. The only safe people are the dead ones. Those we can remember from the good times. The rest mostly doesn’t deserve the honor. Thanks god i’m very close to my parents, my syster and her beautiful family. They are my family together with my wife and my mother in law. Soon kids will come and there will be Christmas again. I just hope my family in this generation stands differently then others. I hope the new families that were born from our own doesn’t brake us apart. I hope to have a different kind of family where Christmas is a big family reunion with no regrets no matter what. We sometimes forget this holiday is about the birth of Jesus and as i recall this wish of mine have a lot to do with his ideas about us all being a big family. So in one hand i lost my big family reunion but in other i gained the hole Mankind and my brothers and sisters. Shame i didn’t realize that back in the old days but i hope soon my big fat merry family Christmas will come. For me the spirit of Christmas means hope. Hope for Goodness. Hope for Joy and family. The other hopes as money and miracle diets are reserved for New year’s eve. A guy just screamed from his window saying “enough with the music”! I hope those two old forks don’t get tired of playing. They may not realize but some are listening. Some still Hope. I hope for a Merry Christmas to you all!

