When i was a kid i used to spend sometime with my grandparents. My parents used to travel abroad and they would leave us with them. I loved my grandma’s food and my grandpa’s sense of humor. There are things i never forgot like the fact my grandma used to smoke her last cigarette of the night with the lights already out. I would be sleeping on a matress close to her bed and my grandpa didn’t sleep in that room at the time. He snored too much or that’s what she used to say. I remember the red glow and the sound of burning paper. In this particular weekend my parents left me and my only sister there before a trip to Europe. They told us we would have to spend the weekend with a made because grandma and grandpa were in a farm until sunday. I remember like it was yesterday that i didn’t want to sleep in the bedroom without them in the house. I was scared so i slept on the couch at the living room. I was really early in the morning when my grandfather woke me up with his usual old italian man saying: “Wake up and spit”. I’m not sure if it makes sense to any of you. I probably turned to the other side and kept sleeping. I had just enough time to see him walking away with his beret and his clothes. I woke up with the sound of someone crying: It was my mother’s sister. She came close to me and said my grandfather was not coming back. I said she was wrong because he already arrived. I told her i saw him that morning. I remember her face when she got mad at me saying that i was lying. Saying that he died that morning on the farm. I got choked and confused and really scared at that time. Today i get happy to remember that. I’m not sure if it was a dream but if that was the case it was a big coincidence. I’m telling this story which i named “Ghosts” because that’s the only event i recall where something different happened in my life. Something i could think it has to do with spirits. I was never scared of ghosts and things like that and i think this story helped me a lot. I like to believe there are other forms of continuity after death. It would be really sad to live all we live to just to fade and loose it all forever.

