You can count to ten of think about the deepest water. Meditation work a little bit but when insomnia decides to come there’s nothing that can put it to “rest”. Nothing healthy at least. Xanax can work miracles but there’s a big price to pay in memory loss. For a strange reason there are some people that are not designed to sleep specially at night. I developed a theory where in old days some folks had to watch the group against animals and enemies in the forest. So they don’t sleep at night. It got in our genes. I know what most will say. It’s a matter of habit. But it’s true that i already didn’t sleep as a baby and i kept not sleeping as a kid and on and on. So i’m not sure if there’s any psychological thing involved. Maybe it’s just the same old biorithm. I’m not sure if it’s because i spent most of my life not sleeping so i developed the habit or if it’s enough reason for being awake at night but that’s the time of the day where i’m more productive creatively speaking. I write my posts at night. I paint at night. I work at night. No phones ringing and no people. I love people but not when i’m doing things where i don’t want to be interrupted. During the day you spend the day trying to concentrate and the phone and the mobile and the intercom and the Nextel and the bell ringing and the emailing and the text messaging and the msning and the facebooking and the twitting and the knocking on the door and the talking and laughing and the talking about last night and on and on and on…well… they don’t let you do your thing. You do a percentage of anything you are fully capable of doing when no one is around. On top of that it takes three times the effort to move around in the city. When i look at my window at night everybody is asleep and it’s all really quiet. I really love that. Anything can happen but nothing really happens so the mind is free to wonder and to fool around. But if you enjoy the idea beware: It’s a lot more time with yourself than you are used to have. You may start thinking too much and that is no good. Specially if you are planning to sleep ever again.

