Internet still amazes me soooo much. I’m probably getting old. I never saw so much power or creation and sharing before and i keep saying that every six months! This time i was amazed by a very simple fact. The search of a song by the pop singer Bruno Mars i needed to show as a reference for a soundtrack. I’m not saying that i like it or don’t like it. The incredible thing started by the fact i could not find the original video o youtube for hours because of the amount of covers o the song. I started watching some of those to see what kind of covers were those and they were really professional videos. I made me remember of my self waiting to listen to a song again on the radio. In the 70’s it was the only way to listen to a new tune. There was this feeling of antecipation and usually we would find a station playing the song only when it was almost over. To resolve this matter you should buy the LP. As i live in Brasil sometimes it took months before i song i wanted arrived in vinil. I would have to buy imports and they were really expensive. So usually the radio was the most common solution. You could also record a tape with the radiocast. Wow!! Youtube has been on for a while and a lot has evolved. I saw many covers before over these last years but what is impressive is the musica quality and the technical quality of the videos. Professional at least. Kids doing art with not limitations. Please take sometime to watch some version of the same song. O got a few cover i found great so you can understand what i mean. They are sooooo many! Some are fun and other are really amazing. Some are for sale on itunes store and some have more than a million views on youtube. This is a real 21 century phenomena. The real composer is mixed in the bunch so you guys can compare. So what happens with authorship? I can assure you it’s all changed. What happens with the record companies? They are already gone. What about us? Well… We will see a lot of exchange between creative people and the artists of our generation will be much closer to us and they will have smaller groups of fans with a much more direct contact. No more middle men. Isn’t that a great moment??? I think so!!!

