I’m a city guy and i was already born this way. I would never live somewhere quiet before i reach seventy. I love the mess and the happenings and the cultural life of the big city. There’s a thing missing though. The elements. Air is not clean enough for you to enjoy it. São Paulo which is the city i live is famous for the thin rain so i have less than desired of heat or fire. Water that i can dive my body in is only found in pools and finally earth is amost impossible to be found outside the parks. The only solution is to spend a couple hours in the car and get to the nearest beach. It’s impressive the effect that the sand under my feet can achieve in seconds. It’s a lot of energy. After that i go into the ocean. That’s even more energy. There’s nothing more relaxing than staying in the sea for ten minutes or so but more than relaxing is also a big charge of energy. Theres’ a Brasilian ritual that i always miss when i’m spending my new year in my country. It’s common for me to visit my syster that lives in Chicago. In the new year’s eve in Brasil almost everyone dresses in white. That’s already a ritual that comes with the african culture we inherited. I really mean everybody. Another thing everybody does is to jump the seven waves. We go into the sea until it reaches at least our knees and actually jump when the wave passes us. We do that usually around the first hour of the first day of the year. If the party is too good we can still do it in the reast of the first day. They say ir brings good luck. I say it doesn’t even matter. It’s such a joy and a charge of energy that just from it is well worth it. Not just because there are hundreds of people in white on the sea at midnight but because the contact with the water and the earth and the wind are so magical. It’s like washing away the old things and getting clean for what is comeing. I really love to live in the city but if i don’t go to the sea at least twice a year i get sick. I need the power of the nature by my side.

