I can say from my italian background that cooking is in my blood. At home i cook the meals and i usually have friends at home for dinner. For this reason a friend asked me to make videos with some family repices and i started with the “ragu” which is a tomato and meat sauce from my grandmother’s region in the south of italy. Making this video was a pleasure and made me remember what is so amazing about family cooking. About going to granny’s house on sundays with all the family to eat and chat and have fun. About playing in the garden with the dog and messing with the plants trying to find a four-leaf clover and bugs to capture. After the meal the old folks would tell jokes and the young kids would play until time to go home. It’s amazing how great moments are related to food. Not fast food for sure but food that creates rituals. Food that goes on the table for a big group to enjoy. Family cooking. I really miss that since i’m not a kid and i don’t have a grandmother anymore. My hope now is to be able to renew these rituals when i’m older and maybe my gradsons will remember and cherish this idea. Until then i’m cooking for my friends and i’m thinking about putting a blog about family food together. I’ll start with my “ragu” and it will be open for other recipes. I hope you all like it and participate. Maybe that will make us remember more vividly the good old days.

