I remember when i was young my father telling me i had to stop dreaming and realize what i really had to do with my life because life is hard and one have to face up reality and responsibility. I tried to go against him and i decided to be as creative as i could. First i tried to play music but i learned that with no money i couldn’t go far away from my home. Then i tried to do photography. I’m good at it but i couldn’t make a living on it as well. Later on i discovered film. It had music and photography and creativity all in the same combo. I saw i couldn’t go very far living in my father’s home because for him it would be still a dream and not something real. I left his house and started working my way in film very slowly. Many times when i talked to him he would try to convince me that i was wasting my life with something that was not a real job. Then i started getting better and better in my field. After twenty years he still tried to find some weakness in my life specially financial to be able to say i was wasting my life. Now i’m an internationally know director and this year he asked me to work in his company. He said he was seventy and he was about to quit. Either i decided to keep it going or he would sell. After all this time i felt the job i believe i was tailored to do and started to work with him in a field i have no expertise. I guess i was really wasting my life because i would never end up turning my back to him. I realized fathers keep saying to their sons to stop dreaming but what they really want is to see their dreams living on their children’s hands.

