The films “21 grams” mentions a research showing that a person in a scale will loose 21 grams just after the moment of death. A supposition coming from this result implies that the soul or what makes us humans weights then this 21 grams. The weight of our souls. I try to imagine why someone would do an experiment like this and i wonder how many important discoveries were made in science. I also wonder how society chooses the way to use these discoveries and the consequences of that. I saw my grandmother suffering so much. She stayed in the hospital four months before her death with no chance of survival. The machines and techniques of the hospital were powerful enough to “give’ her four extra months of life. Four months of pain. I know many cases like this and i’m not using my granny to get your support. It’s really an example and many of you may know others just like this. The fact is that she was deformed because of the liquids in her body. Se had huge wounds on her back from being in the hospital bed for a long time. She had a machine to breath for months so she could not eat or speak. And then she died. I don’t know if i’m wrong to say that but to me looked like they tortured her for four months. I know doctors have the obligation to do whatever they can and the family would never buy the idea that just letting it go could be better but to me that looked like a bad ending. When you have a great love and it finishes you want to preserve the good things about it so you end before all you can remember is negative. She left life hating it and spending a lot of time asking to die with no answer. She probably have terrible memories from life she took with her. Those 21 grams don’t want to ever come back to this life and all of this is a benefit from our advanced society and it’s medicine. I really believe in advance and i really believe in medicine. I have to thank medicine for been alive right now but in my point of view the moral codes doctors found to practice their profession are really wrong. There should be a point where keeping a person alive with pain and no hope is plain wrong. A moment when machines should be turned off. Some kind of respect for those 21 grams that means so much to some. I know it’s a hard task to ask for those left behind but their time will arrive too and if is like they say and “death is not the end” we are sending many souls to heaven’s shrinks!!!

