On sunday and i watched the Bolshoi “live in DH” in the movie theatre. Its really a great experience but i would prefer less camera moves. I would love to see it like in a real theatre with only one camera showing all the stage. Last year i had the chance to watch “La Cenerentola” in the same format.HD cameras are hooked everywhere on the theatre and all around the world we are able to see the same show people at the venue are enjoying. It was a great ballet and is really amazing how far a person can go with talent. In this blog i have a page with a documentary i’m working on right now. I lived one month with a group of classical musicians in a big classical music festival. The ballet made me remember those four weeks and a thing that is haunting me since i started the documentary. Looking at the dancers and remembering the musicians i couldn’t stop wondering about the main dancer in the role of “Giselle”. In this kind of live projection there’s always someone explaining a bit of what’s going on and the the woman kept telling that “The Bolshoi” was a factory of great dancers and any of those girls could be “Giselle” and that it was the dream role for any classical dancer. I saw the same happening before and it bothered me. I saw kids that lost their entire youth practicing just to be at the last place in the orchestra and i saw kids that did the same but they were shining in front of the maestro. I witnessed people being humiliated in search of advice from masters of the craft just because everything they had to offer was not good enough. I use to brag about my capacity of learning people very fast. Sometimes it only takes one look. It’s part of my job as a director and interviewer. A couple times in that month i really got frustrated. I supposed that to be the best of the best in arts specially music which is so delicate one must be very sensitive and enlightened to conjure these atributes and i can tell you it happened many times as i imagined. But these other times were hard on me. The first was this kid. She plays the violin. I heard one of those masters saying he would take her to france to teach her. That she was the most talented performer with the biggest “emotion” in music he ever had the chance to meet. I can tell you i interviewed her and she was a dry person that would resemble someone from the army and not from music. I could not understand. Then this happened a couple more times and i thought it was my fault. I was loosing the touch. Then i witnessed a scene. I was filming a piano class. The teacher was this french guy considered the best “Ravel interpreter” alive. I heard him before rehearsing Ravel’s piano concerto and it was really moving. I was very happy for the student, a poor boy from a little town who spent eight hours a day for the last twelve years practicing piano. His performance for me was wonderful. After the class started the teacher asked him to play the Ravel. As the student finished the music he said very gently: ” I’m sorry but in fifty years you will not be able to play. You should try to get a job” and the student started crying and everyone heard his sad story. Nobody applauded the french pianist in his performance that night because everyone got sad for the boy. I can swear that guy was really talented but he was not a good man at all. I could see no emotions he could share with others. Now my point is: Where does this gift come from? It’s it fair? Why one would spend his life believing in something and trying hard just to be seconded by another someone that not necessarily deserves it. Maybe gifts are something we should be able to recognize in our selves so we could decide to follow paths we are carved to follow. Maybe that is something very wrong with our learning system where one can spend an entire live not knowing what one is good at. The thing is: That path you choose not always choose you. That’s a fact hard to swallow for a boy and i felt sorry for him. And i’ll always feel that way. I can say i always tried very hard to better my self but i saw people trying less and doing better and of course also the other way around. Then i decided: Gifts are overrated !

